Headline News
08 September 2017

Rustenburg – Students from the North West took part in the Spur Schools MTB regional final event held at Rustenburg High School on 2 September. 

“The regional final was a huge success with a total of 150 high school rider entries from 12 surrounding schools,” Deon Steyn, regional event coordinator said. “The top performing high school was Rustenburg High School with a total of 283 points.”

The North West #4 winners for the following categories are:
? sub junior boys (14yrs): Lenre Coetzee, Wesvalia High School;
? sub junior girls (14yrs): Rune Jade du Plessis, Overkruin High School;
? youth men (15-16yrs): Stehan Wolmerans, Hartbeespoort High School;
? youth women (15-16yrs): Jone van Eeden, Potchefstroom Gimnasium;
? junior men (17-18yrs): Sean Wagner, Rustenburg High School;
? and junior women (17-18yrs): Kaylin Prinsloo, Hartbeespoort High School.

The Spur Schools Mountain Bike League was launched by Spur Steak Ranches and Amarider in 2009. The initiative aims to provide a level of regional and national structure for the sport at school level, as well as to encourage schools to adopt mountain biking as an official in-school sport. 

The Spur Mountain Bike League Interschools Final wraps up this season on 7-8 October in Magaliesburg at Bekker High School, where schools will go head-to-head on race day as the race moves away from the individual rider-focus to a team-focussed race. Each school strives to qualify for this part of League. 

A cash prize of R10 000 is up for grabs and will be awarded to each school at the top of their age category. The primary and high schools finishing top of the points log at the end of each season are awarded the Region’s School Champion floating trophy.

Issued by Positive Dialogue Communications 

Spur Schools MTB League rider in action!
Leaders from the North West province who will be attending the inter-schools final at Bekker High School in October.


Share this article with a friend...